Use the latest browser recommended by Microsoft
Get speed, security and privacy with Microsoft Edge

OECS/ECCB International Netball Series

The OECS/ECCB International Netball Series was launched in June 2019 with the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) as its title sponsor and forms part of the Bank's Community Outreach thrust. The competition replaces the OECS Under-23 Netball Tournament which the ECCB sponsored from 1991 to 2018.

The decision to upgrade to an international series hinged on the Bank’s desire to provide an opportunity for netballers from the ECCB member countries to play annual international matches, thereby improving  their ranking on the world stage. It is anticipated that this undertaking will facilitate the:

  1. Showcasing of elite netballers in the OECS on the international platform;
  2. Establishment of netball pathways for OECS netballers to realise their full potential;
  3. Capacity to monitor the respective countries’ performance against the rest of the world;
  4. Transfer and adoption of international best practices, with respect to netball umpiring and coaching;
  5. Marketability of netball as a sports tourism option in the OECS; and the
  6. "Internationalisation" of the corporate social responsibility profile of the ECCB; as the title sponsor of the only funded netball tournament in the region.

The OECS/ECCB International Netball Series is also geared towards contributing to the improvement of the sport of netball in the OECS and providing an avenue for the region's young women to develop both socially and physically. A personal development session which is aimed at enhancing the netballers’ interpersonal and professional skills, is included in the programme.

The ECCB collaborates with the OECS, the Caribbean Netball Association and the netball association of the host country to plan and coordinate all the activities required to ensure a successful tournament.

The 2nd OECS/ECCB International Netball Series was hosted in the Commonwealth of Dominica from 12 - 18 February 2022 at the Windsor Park Sports Stadium. Five ECCB member countries participated: Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Saint Christopher (St Kitts) and Nevis, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Team Barbados participated as an invited team.

Team Saint Vincent and the Grenadines emerged as champions and took home the Gloria Ballantyne trophy. Team Saint Lucia came second, team Antigua and Barbuda placed third, the Commonwealth of Dominica took the fourth place and team Saint Christopher (St Kitts) and Nevis placed fifth.

Winners of the OECS/ECCB International Netball Series

Year Host CountryWinner
2022Commonwealth of DominicaSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
2019Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesGrenada
This website uses cookies to improve your experience. For more information view our privacy policy here. Cookie Settings

ECCB Celebrates 40th Anniversary