Use the latest browser recommended by Microsoft
Get speed, security and privacy with Microsoft Edge
  • Home
  • OECS Under-23 Netball Tournament

OECS Under-23 Netball Tournament


In 1991, the ECCB made a commitment to sponsor the OECS/ECCB Under-23 Netball Competition, as one of its community outreach programmes, given the importance of sports to development, and to fostering the integration process.

The objective of the competition was not only to contribute to the improvement of the sport of netball in the ECCU, but to provide an avenue for the region's young women to develop both socially and physically. In 1999, the bank incorporated personal development sessions for the netballers, with the aim of enhancing their interpersonal and professional skills.

The OECS Sports Desk, Saint Lucia, in association with a designated host netball association, stages the OECS/ECCB Under 23 Netball Competition annually . The hosting of the tournament is rotated among the Bank's participating member countries.

The OECS Sports Desk/ECCB Partnership

Mr Joseph “Reds” Perreira, former Coordinator of the OECS Sports Desk, has played a pivotal role in the development of the OECS/ECCB Under 23 Netball Tournament. He joined the OECS Secretariat as Sports Co-ordinator on 1 September 1984 with the creation of the OECS Sports Desk. During the early stages of his tenure Mr Perreira was able to secure sponsorship for the competiton from the ECCB.

According to Mr Perreira, the collaboration between the ECCB and the OECS Sports Desk was the "perfect mix." In his reflection of the OECS/ECCB Under 23 Netball Tournament over the years, Mr Perreira highlights the:

  1. Collaboration between the OECS Sports Desk and the ECCB click here to view
  2. The impact of the OECS/ECCB Under 23 Netball Tournament on the development of the players and officials click here to view
  3. The contribution of the tournament to the regional integration process click here to view

Winners of the OECS Under 23 Netball Competition Since 1991

2018Saint Christopher (St Kitts) and NevisSaint Lucia
2016Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesGrenada
2015Saint Christopher (St Kitts) and NevisGrenada
2014Saint LuciaSaint Lucia
2013Antigua and BarbudaSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
2012GrenadaSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
2011St KittsSt Kitts
2010Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesGrenada
2009NevisSt. Kitts
2008Saint LuciaGrenada
2007Antigua and BarbudaSaint Vincent and the Grenadines

Archive of the OECS Under 23 Netball Winners

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. For more information view our privacy policy here. Cookie Settings

ECCB@40 Commemorative Magazine