Use the latest browser recommended by Microsoft
Get speed, security and privacy with Microsoft Edge

Series 1 – 1984

The first EC banknotes were issued on 15 November 1984 to commemorate the ECCB’s first anniversary. Prior to 1984, the notes in circulation were issued by East Caribbean Currency Authority (ECCA) between 1965 –1983 and the British Caribbean Currency Board (BCCB) from 1950 - 1965.

The EC notes were issued in denominations of $1, $5, $10, $20, $100, and maintained the themes of the ECCA notes but featured an updated portrait of the Queen.

These notes were the first to bear the signature of the ECCB’s Governor, Sir Cecil Jacobs, and to be assigned country codes: U represented Anguilla, A - Antigua and Barbuda, D  - Commonwealth of Dominica, G – Grenada, M – Montserrat, K – Saint Christopher (St Kitts) and Nevis, L – Saint Lucia, and V – Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

The main security features of this series were the embedded thread on the right side of the note and the profile watermark of Her Majesty the Queen along with the lithographic and intaglio print.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. For more information view our privacy policy here. Cookie Settings

ECCB Celebrates 40th Anniversary