Use the latest browser recommended by Microsoft
Get speed, security and privacy with Microsoft Edge
  • Home
  • ECCB To Establish Regional Standards Setting Body For Non-Bank Financial Sector


ECCB to establish Regional Standards Setting Body for Non-Bank Financial Sector

The Eastern Caribbean Central Bank is taking steps to introduce a Regional Standards Setting Body to regulate non-bank financial institutions within the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU). This is in keeping with the ECCB’s mandate to ensure integrity within the banking system.

Speaking on this week’s episode of ECCB Connects, Chief Director (Policy) at the ECCB, 
D Tracy Polius, says that a standards setting body is an institution that is established to set guidelines to regulate a particular industry or market. She adds that non-bank financial institutions include credit unions, insurance companies and development banks, which are included in this reform.

Polius points out that the ECCB is also a regional standards setting body, as it functions as the regulatory body for commercial banks and licensed financial institutions within the ECCU.

Polius adds that once established, the Regional Standards Setting Body for the non-bank financial sector will minimise the separation between regulation and supervision at the national and regional levels and will support the ECCB in the execution of its mandate.  Other benefits of such a body include reducing the cost of compliance for institutions, even application of regulations and guidelines to avoid regulatory arbitrage, and the promotion of a single financial space in the ECCU.

The next step in establishing the Regional Standards Setting Body is to consult with member countries and the various stakeholders to ensure that its design is fit for purpose and that all aspects of the regulatory process are addressed.

View the full discussion on the ECCB’s social media pages using the handle ECCB Connects. 



About the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank 

The Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) was established in October 1983. The ECCB is the Monetary Authority for: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Christopher (St Kitts) and Nevis, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. 


Media Contact: Beverley Edwards-Gumbs, Acting Director, Corporate Relations Department 

Phone: (869) 465-2537 | Fax: (869) 465-9562 

E-mail: info@eccb-centralbank.org | Website: www.eccb-centralbank.org

ECCB Connects Season 24 Episode 8 - Establishment of a Regional Standards Setting Body in the ECCU

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. For more information view our privacy policy here. Cookie Settings

ECCB Celebrates 40th Anniversary