Series 1 – 1984

The first EC banknotes were issued on 15 November 1984 to commemorate the ECCB’s first anniversary. Prior to 1984, the notes in circulation were issued by East Caribbean Currency Authority (ECCA) between 1965 –1983 and the British Caribbean Currency Board (BCCB) from 1950 - 1965.

The EC notes were issued in denominations of $1, $5, $10, $20, $100, and maintained the themes of the ECCA notes but featured an updated portrait of the Queen.

1 EC Dollar Bill
5 EC Dollar Bill
10 EC Dollar Bill
20 EC Dollar Bill
100 EC Dollar Bill

These notes were the first to bear the signature of the ECCB’s Governor, Sir Cecil Jacobs, and to be assigned country codes: U represented Anguilla, A - Antigua and Barbuda, D  - Commonwealth of Dominica, G – Grenada, M – Montserrat, K – St Kitts and Nevis, L – Saint Lucia, and V – St Vincent and the Grenadines.

The main security features of this series were the embedded thread on the right side of the note and the profile watermark of Her Majesty the Queen along with the lithographic and intaglio print.

full navigation / siteplan